Most men lead lives of quiet desperation – I sure as hell won’t

So as you know (or not), I love reading self-help books. But I find that the magic wears off after a few days. I’ll read a book, get all pumped up and SWEAR that I’ll start living properly and doing meaningful things, and then I become some useless being once again. A lot of people think self-help books are rubbish, but hey, they have their religion to turn to for comfort & inspiration. I turn to life coaches and motivational speakers. 

 

The latest book I’m reading is ‘The Art of Non-Conformity’ by Chris Guillebeau

.  

Here’s a guy whose goal is to travel the world, and he’s almost there (Think he has like 19 countries left?). I mean, a lot of people just say : ‘oh I’d like to travel the world’, but you know it’s no more than a lofty dream for them, almost equivalent to saying : ‘oh I’d like to marry Zac Efron & have his babies’. 

Anyway I’ve always been planning my life but not really LIVING it. I guess I’ve had a couple of experiences that are interesting enough to warrant perhaps a ‘well, she had a life relatively well-lived’ at my funeral,  but nothing that would leave a legacy, an impact on this world. 

Which, according to a little book of my maid’s I flipped through, is ending soon. Yes apparently the world was ruled by Satan but in 1914 Christ took over and thus now we are awaiting Armageddon. So we should all be prepared.  I’m not being sarcastic. With this revelation I have now been pushed back onto the fence. 

whee, a comfy place to be.

Guess I should just focus on being happy. Yesterday I went for jazz class – alone! :0 

yep had a private lesson. I love Jenni, she’s like the nicest teacher EVER. I realised that I’m really happy whenever I dance.

Thought about it, maybe I won’t enter a club after all. Some people go to loosen up and ‘have fun’. But that’s their idea of fun.

Some just wanna dance the night away – so do I, just in a dance studio and without hundreds of other sweaty bodies pressed up against mine, with fatsos trying to cop a feel (as my friend WL has kindly warned me).

 Some wanna expand their social circle and meet cute guys – sounds nice and all, but I’m sure cute guys can be found in better places – the ones for me, anyway. 

Yes I’m still slightly mad at JP’s bitchy friend. But I know that she’s never gonna amount to much. 

Back to the topic of dancing…guess it’s sad that I’ve only just come to love it.  Right now it’s near impossible to tell I once did ballet, and it’s too late for me to go pro. Not that I want to be a ballerina- I think my personality is more suited to jazz and hip-hop, if anything.

 

Still I miss the discipline – as with many other things, I’m often straddled in between two extremes . I DO enjoy having structure in my life but at the same time I need flexibility and freedom.

Came across this blog, written by Jana Fadness, who is a polyglot. She wrote a post about how sometimes it’s okay to give up on something when you realise it’s not right for you. You don’t have to speak a language like a native, or be the best in everything you do. Of course you should try your best, but it’s probably hard (not impossible, but VERY VERY TOUGH) to be a master of every little thing you take up.

One sentence in TAONC struck me: most people question the meaning of life, but what we’re searching for isn’t really the meaning but rather the experience of BEING ALIVE. 

(or something like that.)

 

on a random note, I’ve been reading SasuNaru fics everyday and rekindling my love for the two. Haven’t been reading the manga so I’ve no idea what’s going on now, but I’m assuming no confession of the sort shown in the picture above has occurred yet. (like it ever will, sigh. )

Subtext is awesome and I love it, but sadly it gives fans of other pairings space to argue. 

BUT HONESTLY, SINCE WHEN HAVE KARIN OR SAKURA CONNECTED WITH SASUKE ON AS DEEP A LEVEL AS NARUTO, HUH?!

& DOES NARUTO REALLY LOVE SAKURA? HE CLAIMS HE DOES, BUT HOW DOES HE KNOW ? AND HAS HE EVER SHOWN SIGNS OF ROMANTIC INTEREST TOWARD HINATA?

urgh I just love SasuNaru so so so much that it would break my heart if either of them got paired up with someone else. I’d rather no pairings at all. 😦

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

