Why can’t I breathe whenever I think about you?

Actually, I can, but for the sake of  poetic angst and over-romanticizing of emotions…

Why Can’t I by Liz Phair is like one of my fave songs ever. It may be dirty, but it’s a nice song to listen to when you’re crushing on someone. Not that I think of…stealing someone’s bf & doing questionable things, but. Um. Anyway.

Well, today I told myself that I should stop hoping for E.T to appear. But I still couldn’t help but people-watch, in hopes that I’d see his face. Rebs and Eli went to buy drinks, so I sat at our table guarding our bags. & who should appear then but E.T, picking the table RIGHT ACROSS FROM ME?! 

& sitting directly across too. Well,kinda to the left-directly across. Yeah. Either way,  he was in my line of sight, & I his – assuming he even noticed.

He went to get his food, & I got all nervous and trembly, and texted my Dip+ mates..don’t know why they were the first names to pop up in my head.  Elitha managed to turn once or twice to look at him when he returned, but I didn’t dare look.

I tried continuing the convo normally, but I was so stiff & awkward. I couldn’t really look at Rebekah because he was right behind her, facing me. I snuck like, 2 peeks in the whole 30 minutes or so that he was seated there. Kept plotting ridiculous ways to approach him, and kept going : WHAT SHOULD I DO ARGH HELP WHAT TO DO WHAT TO DO…

Well he left without so much as a glance, so. I can be sure he either knows I’m a stalker and has decided that I can be safely ignored, or he just doesn’t care that I’m like this pathetic fangirl who becomes all stupid whenever he’s near.

Then during breaktime we were just cooking up more stupid ways to meet him and giggling over it when he appeared AGAIN. This time to get green tea (!!!) . I pointed out to Rebs later that I always get green tea too, and she was like : Yes, you, him & the entire Chinese population. thanks, thanks.

Sigh, then he left with a gaggle of girls, like Papa Goose. 😥

What is it about him that I like, honestly?  Hm.

Here are some ideas we have hatched though, none of them very feasible)

-KNOCK OUT CLEANER UNCLE/AUNTIE AND CLEAR HIS PLATES

-SPILL ICED LEMON TEA (WHICH REBS WAS DRINKING)/ HOT SOUP/ TRIP HIM

-GET SOMEONE TO HAVE A FIT

-GET SOMEONE TO PRETEND TO BE POSSESSED. I’LL GO ROUND SPRINKLING HOLY WATER , HOLDING A CROSS & YELLING.

-WORK PART-TIME @ THE DRINKS STALL. OR ANY OTHER STALL REALLY.

-FLASH MOB!!! 😀

-REACH FOR A GREEN TEA BOTTLE AT THE SAME TIME

-‘HI, ARE YOU WEIMING’S COUSIN?’ – JIAYING’S SUGGESTION

-‘ARE YOU GOING FOR THE 6B BBQ PARTY?’ – SMS FROM ME

‘WHO ARE YOU’ – HIM

‘STOP JOKING LAH DARRYL, I KNOW IT’S YOU.’ – ME

‘I’M NOT DARRYL, YOU GOT THE WRONG PERSON. I’M ____.’  – WEILING’S SUGGESTION

-PLAY ‘CLOSE TO YOU’ BY THE CARPENTERS WHENEVER HE APPEARS

-ASK ELITHA TO PLAY THE VIOLIN

-THROW RUBBISH IN THE AIR AND WATCH IT FLOAT TO THE GROUND TOGETHER. HAHAHAH – EYE CONTACT!

– ACT BLIND

 

Anywho I’ve stopped going to AF and am now attending private lessons at French Toast (cozy little place!) instead with Jean-Baptiste. He’s a really nice teacher though I realised just how awful my grammar was. I’m not allowed to converse in English anymore, but I still do, because it’s so hard to form gramatically correct sentences in the space of like 5 seconds.

I hope to take my DELF B2 in Dec, although I’m not sure if it’ll be too late to use for college apps. If I’m confident I might take it in May instead…

But so much for all the talk, when I went to tutor this 13 year old who just moved here from Mumbai, I was like damn lousy. I brought my grammar book and asked what he needed help with. He said Passe Compose. (no accents on my keyboard) I was like, shit.  I haven’t studied my grammar in a long time. So I asked if he knew the 14 verbs that use ‘Etre’ instead, and he was like no, so I thought : phew.

But then again I wasn’t sure about a lot of other things. It’s hard to touch on one thing cuz it usually involves another more complicated thing. I ran out of things to do so I told him to write a paragraph in P.C about his activities the day before. THEN I realised that he needed to know reflexive verbs such as se laver, se reveiller etc. 😥 I have a bad feeling I taught him the wrong thing.

 

Last half hour was spent watching him play hide-and-seek with his adorable poodle Brownie and spraying sour spray into his mouth . 😦 I tried to get him to introduce himself in French, but then after that he was like AHH…

Nice boy, but I think I seriously need to study (I couldn’t even remember the names of the accents) and plan my future lessons (if any, seeing as I was a disaster) well.

Can I please tutor English or Chinese 😥 It’s so much easier.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

