You shoot me down, but I won’t fall. I AM TITANIUM.

I am fighting against the inflexibility of Singaporeans and their absolute refusal to bend rules, even out of moral compassion. Okay fine, I’m being over-dramatic. But honestly, you can’t expect to treat me like a prisoner, and refuse to grant me some time off.

The fact that I’m writing to you this early shows that I have no intention of lying to you and faking illness or a relative’s death.

It’s not allowed, it’s been that way for over 30 years…

well if people never allowed for change and flexibility, our society would be sadly stagnant.

I’m a firm believer that you have to fight for what you think is right, and I am going to be very honest here.

All I ask for is a few hours. A few pathetic hours.

I had no idea that I was so influential. That my absence would impact my teammates deeply, that it would shake the entire core of the event and cause the pillar of objectives to crumble into absolute nothingness.

I’m just going to be absent during dinnertime and one measly discussion, or a late-night gossip session!

Am I being unreasonable? I compromised. I asked to just please, leave at 6 even, and be back before midnight.

I didn’t say oh may I skip 2 days, or leave at 2pm?

WHY ARE SINGAPOREANS SO DAMN INFLEXIBLE?

ALL OF YOU CHASE AFTER PAPER, MONEY, WHAT YOU THINK DEFINES SUCCESS…BUT YOU KNOW WHAT? YOUR INABILITY TO EMPATHISE AND ACCEPT ALTERNATIVE PATHS MAKES YOU A SAD BUNCH. I DON’T CARE IF YOU HAVE A 10-DOLLAR VOCABULARY AND YOU EARN A 6-FIGURE SALARY.

YOU’RE NOT ABLE TO JUST MAKE TEENSY WEENSY EXCEPTIONS THAT WOULD BRING ABSOLUTELY NO HARM TO YOUR CAUSE. NO HARM. AT. ALL.

I know you tried being polite to me. I’m grateful for that.

But this, this is within your control. You & I know that.

It’s not in the hands of someone higher up, it’s in YOUR hands.

You just won’t give in. But I don’t want to give up either.

I’m sorry. But I’m fighting for this.

People who fight for what they want may get bruised, they may suffer, or they may die, but in the end they are respected, and they’re the ones who will be remembered.

 

on an unrelated note,

I really do not like hearing that others have the same goals as I do. Especially when they have the exact same ambitions. It’s true that there are only so many degree courses and only so many countries Singaporeans would want to go to, but why the exact same field and the exact same location?

Perhaps it’s mere paranoia, or just a feeling that my uniqueness has been robbed from me.

But I can’t possibly give up on my dream just because someone else is dreaming of the same thing, can I? That would be stupid.

 

Standard

One thought on “You shoot me down, but I won’t fall. I AM TITANIUM.

Leave a Reply

