People help the people

Was preparing for my interview when I came across this article :

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-21499068

People may ask – why do you believe in humanity, when sometimes it seems like there’s no hope for the world at all? & I’ll answer- stories like the above. What made me feel like crying was the fact that these women have barely enough for themselves, and they’ve gone through so much suffering – but they gave all they had to buy his ticket home, and they take turns to keep him safe. 

images (6)

& here we are complaining about trivial matters. What does it matter that I have never been liked, when these women are being assaulted? They deserve love, perhaps much more than I do, but they aren’t giving up on themselves – they’re fighting for their rights and filling their lives with love in another sense. 

images (8)

The other night I was talking to Joanna, and I realised that we have very similar values – we both think that helping others is important, although we may be idealistic. Funny thing is, she’s a devout Christian and I’m a humanist. I don’t want to go into religion because it’s sensitive, but I just hope that religious people will stop stereotyping those who don’t believe as ‘evil’ and ‘immoral’. I am interested in improving the lives of others because I want to. ‘Just being good for goodness’ sake’ . (:

There’s a Chinese phrase : 人性本善 – how do I translate that, exactly? Guess it means that humans are inherently good…? Anyway, I believe that. There are truly psychotic people out there, true – but then you have stories of kidnappers releasing hostages, or ‘evil’ people changing their minds…I don’t know, I just want to believe that we’re all better than that, whatever that means. 

I’ve crafted a rough life-plan of sorts, but I know that unexpected things are bound  to happen. Still, finding love and making a difference in the world are my top priorities. 

images (7)

I’m glad that my mum trusts me to figure these things out on my own, and she believes in me. She said that I look like a weak person but I’m actually quite the tough cookie, especially when it comes to relationships and feelings and stuff. I mean, I acknowledge my sad feelings – I cry once, maybe twice, feel emo about not having my feelings returned- and then I tell myself to move on. Sometimes I’m so frustrated, but just as strongly as I believe in humanity, I believe that I’m worthy of a great guy and that I’ll meet him someday. 

But I’ll save these thoughts for a BFS93 post. (: For now, I just want to ace my interview – my 1st step to changing the world. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

