For once, there is nothing up my sleeve. Just some scars from a life that used to trouble me.

Guess I got my wish after all : I’m blissfully busy these days – or well, busier at least. (Not too busy to blog though, goes the snarky voice in my head)

I love the feeling of always having something to do next; someone to meet; somewhere to go. I hope things will stay this way. 

Busy-Bee-Cartoon

I’m pretty excited about the fact that seniors have set up a Global Studies Club! I’ll try my best to be a little more involved once they get things going…I feel guilty about the fact that I don’t even go for Synergy anymore, but honestly – how do people do it? Juggling CCAs (yes, plural) , work, school and a social life? I constantly wish I could be some sort of  Supergirl too, but I know I lack the capability. 

download (11)

Speaking of work, it’s been fun learning one new thing after another. I had no intention, really, of ever heading to Switzerland for summer school/internship, but after doing research on UniGe, I’ve decided to apply for its internship programme next year (or the year after, depending). Geneva is the perfect place for me to go if I’m interested in working for an NGO/IO/the UN in the future, so why not? 

I also realised how little I know about world currencies – while checking the symbols though, I looked at the tourism board sites of several countries, and was instantly overcome with wanderlust. So many places I haven’t been – Sweden, Poland, Norway, Romania…sigh. I didn’t even know a place called Nagaland existed, until I got an email asking me to conduct a campus tour for the Nagaland team. 

nagaland

Ah, campus tours. I just had my 3rd one today. I’m quite the nervous wreck before each tour. About an hour or so before I meet the person/ group, you might find me in the loo making sure that I look alright, and mentally chanting my mantra to myself over & over again : they can’t scare me, if I scare them first. Mother Monster’s little nugget of wisdom has always helped me calm my nerves. 

Anyway…I find it funny how I’m always easily infatuated with people – but when I actually get to know them, the feelings fade. I remember this line in one of my favourite fanfics about love not being like the flu – it doesn’t just go away naturally after some time.

4afd02a046ec5e8422049b269020e4fa

 

But infatuation isn’t love, and I’ve gotten good at tamping my feelings down until they eventually disappear. Like I said, I’ll know it’s for real when I can’t picture why it won’t work out or when I don’t see the end. 

I’m determined to stop blogging/posting so many statuses about love, because it seems like it’s the only thing I’ve come to be associated with, and I don’t want that. There’s a lot more to me than that – I don’t want people judging me like Nicholas did. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

