‘Cause she walk like a boss, talk like a boss

Note: This title is grammatically incorrect because these are lyrics from Ne-Yo’s ” Miss Independent” & my blog post titles are always lyrics relevant to the topic! Just throwing that out there in case grammar Nazis are getting their panties in a twist over this (HAHA PEARL WANTS TO BE AN AUTHOR? WHAT A JOKE…)! 

Just watched The Intern yesterday and loved it! (Warning: Spoilers ahead)

I loved Anne Hathaway’s character, Jules,  right away. She’s the kind of woman I want to be, except maybe with a better work-life balance and a working husband. Oh, & a better relationship with my mum, which I do have. She just seemed so put-together from the get-go, but of course she’s only human, which means there’s tons of shit she has to go through as well. She wants to be everything – successful CEO, great mum, loving wife – but there simply isn’t enough of her to go around.

anne-hathaway-the-intern-set-photos-new-york-city-september-2014_2

The pivotal moment that made me cry was when Robert De Niro’s character, Ben, defended her in front of the ‘other mums’. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a housewife, if that is your choice. I think it’s really lovely to dedicate your time and life to taking care of your children and ensuring that they’re raised right. But those mums were snarky and when Ben told them that they ought to be proud that one of their own was out there, breaking the glass ceiling, I was like : YES! YES THANK YOU!

& when he and Jules discussed her husband’s affair, he told her that it was most definitely not her fault and that she shouldn’t ever sacrifice her career in hopes of ‘winning’ him back. I think my heart broke into a thousand little fragments just watching her try to process the fact that it was truly happening and act like a rational adult. I mean, I’m sure this sort of thing warrants a huge emotional breakdown, but she just kinda sobbed, sucked it up and went about making decisions she felt were right. No matter what the cost. (& yeah her hubby did apologise but if it were me, I don’t know if I’d be so forgiving…)

I don’t know…such a heartwarming film, really. With a great message. Not just about work/marriage/family/feminism, but also about genuine friendships with unexpected people…

the-intern

tips on being gentlemen for the current hoodie-and-tee generation of ‘boys’ from a suited-up De Niro…I was still tearing up as I left the cinema. Here I am, typing this and looking at the vision board of all my female role models which I made over a year ago, but what have I done? I don’t think I’ve made much progress since my last rah-rah-I-want-to-be-a-strong-woman-too post. In fact, I think I’m spiraling further into a cesspool of mediocrity. I used to be so excited about working for IRO, even, but I’ve lost that feeling too.

Time & again I’ve begged the Universe to take away the same old issues that drag me down, and make me super busy, but I’ve come to realise that maybe that’s something I have to solve on my own. Feel like such a letdown to my younger self. I think being back home makes me myopic sometimes. It’s here that all the insecurities surface again and I become my worst self …tired, unmotivated…I was even googling ‘quarter-life crisis’ that day, god.

sadness

I was convinced 21 was the age! That was my original deadline! Now it’s 30. Cutting myself some slack. 8 more years to go, girl. You can do this.

Standard

Leave a Reply

